About Us

The Inter-African Phytosanitary Council of African Union (AU-IAPSC) is a Specialized Technical Office of the Department of Rural Economy and Agriculture (DREA) of the Commission of Rural Economy and Agriculture (REA) of African Union (AU) and one of nine Regional Plant Protection Organizations (RPPOs) of the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) in charge of Africa.

AU-IAPSC was established on recommendation of FAO in 1956 in London, and became part of the Organization of African Unity (OAU) in 1965. In 1967 the Headquarter of the Council was transferred from London to Yaoundé, Cameroon. It collaborates with 54 National Plant Protection Organizations (NPPO) and eight Regional Economic Communities (REC) in the effort to supporting the Member States in the phytosanitary capacity building process, preventing the introduction and spread of exotic and invasive plant pests, and increasing intra- and intercontinental market access.

AU-IAPSC is a specialized technical office of the AUC-DREA, governed by a Steering Committee to provide technical and political oversight to AU-IAPSC.